Green Pasta

My dear friends JM and Jan-Adriaan have been been toying with the idea of more meatless meals (specifically less red meat) and I’ve found myself  re-inspired. If hardcore braai aficionados like them can do it, there’s hope for us all. (Just kidding guys, you know I love you )

A few years ago I gave up meat for Lent and it was a truly rewarding experience. I don’t think meat is bad for you, I just think we consume far too much of it as a people.

My re-found inspiration has resulted in many meatless dinners like this one.

I first discovered this recipe in an edition of Pick n Pay’s Fresh Living magazine and I’ve adapted it, reworked it, added to it and subtracted from it over the years. The secret really is to just use what’s available in your fridge and enjoy in limited quantities.

green pasta

Green Pasta (originally titled some other kind of pasta)

Serves 2

200g spaghetti
4 or 5 baby marrows, shaved into thin strips with a peeler
1 cup of frozen peas
250g plain cream cheese (Simonsberg works best for me)
Juice and zest of 1 lemon
Plenty of Maldon salt and pepper
2 tsp chopped garlic
Parmesan shavings

Cook spaghetti in plenty salty water. 5 minutes before the pasta is done, add the baby marrow and peas. Once all is cooked, remove from heat. But don’t drain it just yet!

In another bowl, whisk together the cream cheese, lemon juice and zest, and garlic plus half a cup of the water the pasta was cooked in.  Then drain the pasta, add the cream cheese mixture and toss well. Add Parmesan shavings. Serve with a side salad or plain for maximum creaminess.

Eat up and remember to wipe your face after.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Green Pasta

  1. Go Sam and friends! Meatless meals are deliciously yummy and oh so good for our planet (which I assume you are keen on keeping functioning as it is the only one with chocolate, among many other wondrous things).

Leave a Reply

