But, but… I cooked!

So last week’s Five Weekday Meals challenge was a bust. I can’t even remember all the excuses I had prepped for this, the shameful follow-up blog post. So I’m not going to bother.

Moving swiftly along.

I’m spending a lot of time at home lately – partly due to a curfew imposed by my wallet and liver, but also due to a rather sickly start to the year. Cough.

While I’m there, I might as well do something that matters. Cooking matters. When I feel like I’m accomplishing nothing in my life and there hasn’t been a single beep on my phone for HOURS, cooking makes me feel smart, nifty, strong and, well, accomplished.

So this is what I accomplished on Sunday (it’s pretty much the sum total of my Sunday accomplishments, unless you count finishing ANOTHER season of ANOTHER series).

Warm barley salad with tomatoes, mushrooms and Parmesan

warm barley salad

Serves 2

0.5 cup pearl barley
2.5 cups chicken stock
1 tbs olive oil
Half a punnet of brown mushrooms
Half a can of chopped tomatoes
1 small red onion, diced
half a green pepper, diced
Worcester sauce
1 tbs chopped garlic
1 cup of canned chickpeas
1 cup of cut cucumber
Grated Parmesan to taste

Cook the barley in the stock until soft – about 40 minutes. Set aside. Fry the onion, green pepper, mushrooms and garlic in a pan until soft. Add the tomato and chickpeas and Worcester sauce. Cook for 10 minutes on low heat. Taste – add a teaspoon of sugar or some chutney to add a bit of sweetness.

Dish the barley into bowls, generously grate some Parmesan over it, then add the tomato mixture. Serve the cucumber on the side.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

