Apricot and Mustard Chicken

My new favourite favourite.

Fiery Fruit

FIERY FRUIT: Apricot Mustard Chicken

I get into a rut very easily in the kitchen. When I find something that works, I clutch to it for dear life, or until Danny begs me to vary it up.

My latest flavour fixation is Apricot and Mustard. It stems from a recipe found in an old edition of Fresh Living. It’s also very adaptable because you can use any mustard and any apricot product really. From Dijon with apricot jam to English mustard with freshly sliced appelkosies, it’s delicious any way you want it.
I used my colleague Shaheema as my guinea pig and gave her some to try. Her comments: “I feel like judge on Top Chef“. I’ll take that as a compliment!

I’ve come to regularly serve it with a warm couscous salad as it just seems like the appropriately Moroccan thing to do… 🙂

And one last tip: The chicken breasts with the bone in work better than the fillets.

Apricot and Mustard Chicken
Serves 2
2 free-range chicken breasts with bone in
1 cup of chicken stock
8 fresh apricots, sliced and stoned – for a sweeter palate use tinned apricots which are just as yummy
2 tbs Colman’s English mustard
1 tbs yellow mustard seeds
1 tbs olive oil
Coriander

Heat oven to 180 degrees. Remove chicken skin. It’s will looked old and wrinkled once the chicken is done in the oven and that’s just eeuw. Fry chicken in a pan or pot that can go in the oven, such as my wonderful Le Creuset casserole pot. Yes, I’m bragging. Fry until brown.

Mix apricots, stock, mustard and mustard seeds together. Pour over chicken. Cover the chicken dish with foil or a lid and pop it in the oven for an hour.

After the hour, you’ll notice the sauce will still be thin. Add some maizena if you like it thicker and gloopier. No judging – that’s how I like it. Return to the oven for a few minutes.  Then serve with warm couscous salad and fresh coriander.

Not a square meal...

Not a square meal...

Warm Vegetable Couscous Salad
Serves 2
1 cup of couscous, cooked according to box instructions
1 onion, sliced
1 red, yellow or green pepper, chopped
1 cup frozen peas or corn
1/2 tbs olive oil
Juice of 1 lemon

Cook the couscous as best you can. I often screw it up – too mushy, or too dry. I’m working on it…

Fry the rest of the ingredients together for a few minutes until soft. Mix it with the couscous. Douse with lemon juice. Serve shaped with a bowl.

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner

One response to “Apricot and Mustard Chicken

Leave a Reply

