Intoxicating Spirits

The carols, the colours, the collective… I’m a sucker for Christmas.

Little Red Christmas Ribbon

For you, at Christmas.

Mariah Carey’s All I Want For Christmas plays in the background while I dress in red, tie ribbons around everything – even the roasting pan – and imagine I’m Martine McCutcheon in Love Actually.

Hi, my name is Sam and I’m a Christma-holic.

I’ve started drinking it in and by December 25 I’ll be in high shpiritsh. But can you blame me? It really is all around us like Billy Mack says. I’m not talking about the Boney M and the window dressings. It’s become so much more than that. I’ll illustrate.

Exhibit A: Prince William and Kate’s engagement
It’s just the happy news the world needs to induce the warm ‘n fuzzies. Diana was the closest thing our generation had to a Mother Christmas and this announcement is perfectly timed with the advent of Christmas shopping. Everyone wants a piece of that love drug and buying it at Woolies is way easier than finding your own Prince Charming.

Exhibit B: Best of Lists
Best dressed, best movies, best albums, best everything! This information coupled with a credit card ensures that you can be and have what is perceived as the ‘best’ just in time for Christmas. It’s a great motivator to shop and spoil yourself and others. And if your credit card is maxed, put it on your wish list.

Exhibit C: Celebrity engagements and weddings
And more of that euphoria sets in. No matter what you think of said celebrities or if their impending nuptials are just a ‘showmance’, Love is in the air and it makes you think about your own relationship. If you haven’t decided to dump him or her by now, you’re stuck with them until Valentine’s Day at least.

Christmas is a time of commercial exploitation. It’s the best excuse we’ve got for our indulgences. But it’s also a time for me to spoil my family, impress with my culinary skills, act like a kid and be love-drunk on all the corniness that comes with it.

I heart Christmas.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Intoxicating Spirits

  1. Nothing stopping you, go for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

