Pumping Iron: Beetroot and Ostrich Salad

Pretty in purple and pink...

Pretty in purple and pink...

Salad and I are new friends. I used to be ugly and call it “Rabbit Food”. But I’ve changed my ways and now I can dress her up seven ways from Sunday.

Another of my slightly older friends is ostrich meat. I haven’t cooked with beef mince in over three years because all I buy is ostrich. It’s lean cuisine without the plasticky stuff.

A leftover ostrich fillet in the deep freeze and leftover Woolies beetroot salad could have easily ended up in the bin in my pre-salad days, but now I had the opportunity to mix and match for greatness! The gauntlet in front of me and a hungry man behind me, I had some work to do.

Beetroot and Ostrich Salad

serves 2 big or 4 little people

2oog ostrich fillet (also referred to as steak hereafter)
250g Woolies beetroot salad (the chunks, not the grated stuff)
2 handfuls of leafy greens
2 handfuls of green beans
1 tbs olive oil
1 lemon
Maldon salt and fresh black pepper
Balsamic vinegar and extra olive oil (optional)

Steam your green beans in the microwave for about 5 minutes. Heat your pan until it’s smoking hot. Rub the olive oil over the ostrich fillet. It would be easier if you had 2 x 100g pieces.

Once the pan is smoking, put in the ostrich. Fry on each side for about 2-3 minutes. Remember ostrich has very little fat so it dries out very quickly. Rather take it off when it’s too rare and put it back than serve “Beetroot and Rubber Salad”.

Once your steak is cooked to your liking, let it rest on a plate for a few minutes.

Place the salad leaves and green beans on the plate. Add beetroot. Slice steak into thin strips and douse in fresh lemon juice, salt and pepper. Be liberal. You deserve it – you are having SALAD after all. That’s got to count for something.

Divide the steak strips between the plates. Grate some lemon zest over the pretty plate. Serve with olive oil and balsamic on the side.

This is of course a fantastic meal option for the anemic among us, or the occasional fangbanger, as ostrich and beetroot both have a high iron content which is essential for the production of haemoglobin in our red blood cells.

Woah… too much Web MDing for me today.

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner

One response to “Pumping Iron: Beetroot and Ostrich Salad

Leave a Reply

