Pepper Club perfection

I’m not in the habit of blogging about OTHER people’s food. This is essentially vanity fare, so I like the focus to be on ME. However, every once in a while, you come across something so simply sublime that it cannot go unmentioned.

Ginger Crème Brûlée with Brandy Snaps from Chef Gabriël le Roux at The Pepper Club in Cape Town

Creme Brulee

Every custard's dream job

Apologies for the below-par picture – I only had my cellphone camera on me.

First of all, I’ve never really been much of a crème brûlée fan, perhaps because I’ve never had a good one. Just glorified custard to me, really. But this was not just any set custard with burnt sugar on top.

The consistency was stiff enough not to wobble off your spoon, but still incredibly light and airy. The layer of caramelised sugar on top was thin and crisp; no sharp bits to hurt your mouth and the flavour complemented the custard instead of overpowering it. Clearly you can tell that my previous experience of this dessert favourite hasn’t been pleasant.

Okay, I went back for another one. I had to make sure it wasn’t just the wine that was warming me up to this little cup of heaven. It was lots of fun dipping the rolled brandy snap into the cup and scooping out the custard, instead of using a spoon. Not so glamorous maybe, but that’s rather inconsequential to my enjoyment at that very moment.

No, we didn’t only have dessert. The meal began with starters ranging from oysters to fig and camembert phyllo cigars and lamb kebabs dipped in a yoghurt and apricot raita of sorts.

Main course consisted of beef fillet with fondant potato, red onion chutney, creamed leeks and a wild mushroom sauce.

Here are some of the other desserts that were on offer:

Banana Tarte Tatin

Banana Tarte Tatin

Berry Compote and Vanilla Mascarpone Pavlova

Berry Compote and Vanilla Mascarpone Pavlova

Look, it’s no secret that I love to complain. As such, my only disappointment for the evening was that I had nothing to bitch about on the way home. Nothing! I must be losing my touch… 😉

Executive Chef Gabriël le Roux was at the Paranga group (Paranga and Bungalow in Camps Bay) before heading up at The Pepper Club.


1 Comment

Filed under Desserts

One response to “Pepper Club perfection

Leave a Reply

