Spinach and Feta Rice Quiche

Spinach and Feta go together like peas and carrots, cheese and tomato, me and Danny. In the spirit of togetherness this weekend, I tried my hand at a S&F recipe, despite not being a fan myself. One of the Taste Mags we received in our goodie bags from the SAFBC contained a recipe for Cheese and Swiss Chard Pasta Bake. Obviously I never do things by the book. So this is what happened next.

Spinach and Feta Rice Quiche

Say "Cheese"!

I found a bag full of gorgeous, turgid (heehee) spinach in my organic veggie box last week, plus I had the feta from my cheese goodie box so I was powerless to the forces of attraction between the two. Tsk… and the rice you might ask? My ingredients are so freakin’ hot for each other I needed a buffer incase the egg came out the oven fertilised instead of baked.

Spinach and Feta Rice Quiche
1 cup of rice
3 cups of roughly shredded spinach
1 cup of chopped butternut
250g feta, crumbled
4 free range eggs (trust me, you want to use the free range)
1 cup of cream
1 tbs crumbled blue cheese (Simonzola)
1/2 cup of breadcrumbs
Seasonings of your flavour

Preheat your oven to 180ºC. Cook your cup of rice.  Steam your butternut and spinach until wilted. Drain and squeeze juices out of the spinach, if you want. Once the rice is done, mix it in with the spinach and butternut.

Mix the eggs, cream and cheeses together with a beater. Season to your tongue’s wish and heart’s detriment. Add this to the rice mix and mix some more. Mix, mix, mix…
Pour the unexpectedly runny ‘batter’ into a greased and lined (if you have baking paper, which I did not) baking pan. Generously sprinkle the breadcrumbs on top and then pop it in the oven. If you have leftover batter, pop it into a ramekin or five and bake that too. Makes for pretty pictures. Bake for 30 minutes. Not longer, or it will be dry like stale rice crispies squares. Trust me, I’ve made the mistakes for you.

Spinach and Feta Rice Quiche

Heart-mark approved

Remove from oven and serve with a tomato, onion and cucumber salsa and a dollop of cream cheese.

It looked very pretty, but I didn’t particularly enjoy the taste. Then again, I’m not big on quiches anyway. Danny ate it all, so he reckons it was very good. He says it could do with some tuna though. Freak, Mr wants to put tuna with everything! I hate tuna!
*Breathe*
If you like tuna, this might be a good suggestion.

*Note: I know this isn’t a traditional quiche, but I reserve the right to rename my food.

3 Comments

Filed under Rectangular meals, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Spinach and Feta Rice Quiche

  1. I see Danny is back in the picture…..great! I love your photographs, and I love your own creative twist on this versatile dish!

  2. Hey this blog is fabulous darling. And Danny? Is he back? I do hope so…..

    Please pop over to my blog. I have posted something of interest for all food bloggers. Thanx.

    Hugs
    brownie xxx

Leave a Reply

