Spinach and Pea Risotto

I am 1 year and four months single.

This has taken quite the toll on my kitchen forays. Cooking for one is terribly sad.

6-portion mac ‘n cheese, pots of soup that would last days and pancakes and flapjacks to feed an army… I used to cook BIG. Real big.

Adjusting portions has been tough, especially when I say to myself “I’ll cook it and freeze it for another night”.

That doesn’t happen.

A sad episode of Grey’s Anatomy, me, the couch and the leftovers happens.

*I’ve got to get this under control*

But… I’m one Woolies micro-meal away from digestive failure. As a result, I’ve slowly crept my way back into the food cupboard, carefully coaxing my pots and pans out of their dusty hiding spots.

IMG-20130123-00201

Risotto is an old favourite. Did you know a skottel braai is great for making risotto? It is. I’ve tried it. So should you. Unfortunately the skottel left with the boyfriend, so I’m back to the stove.

I’ve clearly become a bit rusty as my rice was rather overcooked and the seasoning wasn’t spot-on, but we’re getting there.

Spinach and Pea Risotto with Cream Cheese and Parmesan

A splash of olive oil
a knob of butter
1 tbs of crushed garlic
1 onion, chopped finely
1 cup of Arborio rice
6 cups of chicken stock
a few splashes of wine
100g of English spinach
Half a cup of frozen peas
1 tbs of cream cheese
Parmesan shavings

Heat butter and oil in a pan, or a lovely Le Creuset pot like mine. Don’t go crazy with the heat – keep it at a good medium. Once the butter is melted, add the onions and fry until translucent. Add a splash of lemon juice for whimsy (it also helps the onions not stick to the bottom when you’re not looking). Also add the garlic once onions are almost done.

Then add the rice. Make sure the rice is coated in the oil and butter and fry for a few minutes until some of the grains start to get a little colour. But JUST a little.

Then add a cup of stock. Stir, like you’re massaging the rice. No, really. Don’t laugh. And don’t stop stirring just to Whatsapp that hottie – your rice WILL BURN!

Once the stock has been absorbed, add another cup with a splash of wine (if you haven’t drank it all yet). Continue this stirring/massaging process until the rice is soft and it has formed a nice consistency (not stiff, but the rice shouldn’t be disintegrating).

Then add the spinach, peas, a little bit of stock and cook for a further five minutes. Take off the heat, stir in the cream cheese and leave to stand for a bit while you message said hottie.

Dish up into pretty plates, garnish with some Parmesan and flat leaf parsley and enjoy. You could add some smoked chicken like I did for added gluttony and deliciousness.

IMG-20130123-00204

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Spinach and Pea Risotto

  1. This looks amazing! I’ve only tried risotto once, made it horribly mushy and gave up altogether. You’ve inspired me to give this another go!

  2. Great to see you back on the cooking blog ‘bandwagon’. Keep it up!

  3. yum. left over risotto is very delicious and makes a perfect breakfast for a busy single girl. keep cooking, Sam.

Leave a comment